The Revelation of “All”

allThe morning started out like any other, I wake the girls up for school, leave the room, come and wake them again.  They argue, complain and then get dressed. After a few pushes to get them out the door, they’re off to school and then I’m ready for my day with Caleb. Well, this particular morning, Caleb was still upstairs with my husband and I figured I’d sit downstairs for a few minutes of quiet before I have to start my marathon with Caleb who isn’t walking yet but still a baby tornado who can destroy a room in 5 minutes flat! After Hubby changed Caleb’s diaper, he was on his way to bring him downstairs to me and then I heard the most horrifying noise ever; my husband yell and then the scariest rumble, another yell, then screaming from Caleb! My heart jumped in to my throat and I ran to the stairs not knowing what to expect! When I got to the stairs my Hubby was holding a terrified little infant who was screaming his head off, so I took Caleb from him, checked him out and praise God, my little one was ok! Then I looked at my husband and he was not. In his efforts to protect Caleb during the unfortunate slip of his foot on the stairs, my husband had shifted his weight in a way that landed all 6’2″, 200 plus pounds on his left leg and ankle.  His left foot was turned unnaturally left and you could see the bone had completely dislocated! There was no way to get him off the stairs and so I had to call an ambulance. This happened in April….

Now in the beginning of the year, February I believe, my youngest daughter had outpatient surgery and then in early April I had outpatient surgery and now we are in the process of selling our townhouse and buying a house. In the whole chaos of preparing our house to be sold, my husband due to his slip on the stairs, which required surgety to reset the bone in his leg and his ankle, cannot put any weight on it at all for 6 weeks, can’t do much of anything other than holding Caleb.  We still have about 2.5 weeks to before he can even attempt to walk, so all the heavy lifting, cleaning, cooking, kids stuff has been on me. Needless to say 2016 has been very interesting to say the least thus far!

Last week, I was beyond exhausted and I decided that God and I needed to have a little chat! Seriously Lord, what in the world is going on?! There has been a whirlwind of events in the first few months of this year, what are you trying to get me to see?

He then led me to Romans 8:28: And we know that ALL things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. 

I’ve always looked at this verse as a “feel good” verse, all things are working for my GOOD, Amen! LOL! I’ve always just focused on “my good”. But He made me go and focus on “all”. He said, Shannon all means all right? Yes Lord, all means all. But, He says, all means the good, the bad, the ugly, the unpretty, the crazy, unpredictable. He said that all things don’t always feel good, look good, smell good, make any sense but for all things to for your good, you have to trust Me.  I knew this, I thought I knew this, I felt this was the story of my life but somewhere there had been a disconnect. I guess I needed a reminder! So, I started thinking about he whole stairs fiasco and started praising God even more because that could have been so much worse! My then 10 month old son could have been seriously hurt but he wasn’t hurt at all and my husband could have hurt or broken more than just his ankle and leg! My surgery and daughter’s surgery could have been for something very serious, and instead of selling and buying a home because of our added blessing we could be doing this because of other unpleasant circumstances!

Have things been stressful, oh my goodness yes! I’ve reached a new level of exhaustion but in ALL the events that have happened and currently happening, I’ve found ways to praise God in the midst and I’ve seen and felt Him provide and strengthen me and my family in ways we haven’t experienced before. When God allows things to happen in our lives, theres so much more going on! We always focus on ourselves but when God moves, He’s multi-purposeful, He multitasks.  We may think these things are happening to us, for us but it’s not always about us, these events affects those around us as well, even those we don’t know.  For instance, the nurse that tended to me when I had my surgery, was of another religion and culture and I was given the opportunity to tell her about Savin’ it for Hubby and a “summary” of God’s purpose for this ministry and how He views sex.  She was married, and I don’t know why He had me share with her but He knows. ALL that’s happening in our lives is for our good and though these situations, circumstances, events may not always feel good or look good or shoot, we brought them on ourselves, He can and will turn ALL for our good, but we have to trust Him, His ways, and His timing.

So, I’m still trusting and standing and waiting for a contract on our townhouse and trusting Him for strength to keep this place clean for showings with 3 kids and a dog and a husband on crutches! In ALL of this, I know He’s working things for our good! Y’all pray for me!

Be blessed & encouraged,

Shannon

About Savin' It For Hubby!

Founder and Advocate for Purity & Truth. Promoting the truth about sex and the power of purity and obedience to God's Word! View all posts by Savin' It For Hubby!

One response to “The Revelation of “All”

Leave a Reply

