God of the Storm

holding onSometimes things happen to us in our lives that are painful, like gut wrenching pain.  The first question we ask is why. Why did this have to happen to me? Why now? It never makes sense in the midst of it.  It just hurts. No one can offer any solace; although they mean well, their words don’t seem to take the pain away.  Somehow in the midst of all this pain you find that you get through the day and wake up the next morning realizing somehow you made it through.  What we don’t realize is that in the pain, there’s something bigger and greater going on that’s being orchestrated by Someone who’s bigger and greater than the pain we feel. When my mom died a month after I had my first daughter, my heart was crushed! My mom had only seen her granddaughter once before she died! Just imagine; after giving birth, via C-section, your mom pass and you are left with weird hormonal feelings, soreness, swollen breasts, a new baby and new husband with no guidance what so ever! I was angry, hurt and very disappointed! Many thoughts and questions consumed my mind. Why did she have to die after my baby was born? Why now Lord? I don’t know what I’m doing!  I need my mom! My baby girl (either of them, because now I have two daughters) would never know her grandmother! Who would I call when I had questions without my mom here? Who would I talk to about all I was going through on this new journey I’d embarked on?  Well, when I asked the Lord why, He heard my cry and gave me an answer as to why.  Now, keep in mind He didn’t have to tell me anything. He is God, but He is also love and He is close to the brokenhearted (Psalm 34:18).   As painful as it was, I understood why and He gave me comfort in His answer.  In spite of the loss of my mom, I became a great mother and wife and God gave me spiritual moms to provide guidance and comfort along the way. As a result of my mom’s death, our family became closer and it deepened my relationship with my sister.  I also feel that my mom’s death made me appreciate life more, realizing it is short and precious. So, I have to make the most of every moment I have with my daughters.

It is important to realize that although we go through pain, God sees all and He will help us through it.  After all, He did say that He would never leave us or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5).  In this pain, I have found strength that I didn’t know I had and I have come to know God more intimately.  He became my mother and my father.  He has become all that I need and will ever need on this life journey.  Here are some pearls of wisdom I have learned that I want to share with you in hopes it will give you peace in the middle of your storm (pain).

  1. God, even though He loves us beyond words, is more interested in building our character than He is in our comfort. It doesn’t feel good and it all seems bad but, we know that in all things God works things out for the good of those who love Him, who are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).
  2. God is purposeful.  He uses every tear, every joy, every heartache and pain to mold and shape us into who He created us to be. He is the potter; we are the clay (Isaiah 64:8).
  3. What we go through, whether good or bad, it’s for God’s glory, our good and to help someone else along the way. We shouldn’t be afraid to share our story with others especially if you’re getting the nudge from the Lord to do so.  God has a great way of orchestrating divine connections.  You never know, your testimony may be just what the other person needed to lead them to God.  We need each other and God didn’t mean for us to go through life alone.  (John 13:34-35)
  4. What we go through will either cause us to run to God or run away from Him, the choice is ours. You will never be alone if you run to Him!
  5. He’s waiting to love on us and strengthen us through our pain.
  6. Most importantly, I’ve learned that through pain, comes purpose! Through the pain and consequences of premarital sex, came my purpose/ministry, Savin’ it for Hubby.  By me sharing my story, I help others see that they are not alone, God still loves them and wants them, and He has taken away all shame and guilt and most of all He is the Great Restorer!

I don’t know what painful situation you’re in right now but God does and will be with you through it all if you ask Him too.  If you’re going through a divorce, He still loves you and will take care of you. If you have lost someone dear to you, He will be there to wipe every tear away. (Isaiah 25:8) Nothing is too hard for God to handle! (Jeremiah 32:17). So, release your pain, trust Him and let Him give you rest.

Be blessed & encouraged,

Shannon

About Savin' It For Hubby!

Founder and Advocate for Purity & Truth. Promoting the truth about sex and the power of purity and obedience to God's Word! View all posts by Savin' It For Hubby!

Leave a Reply

