If God Said it…..

On this day, one year ago I had the scare of my life! I’d just found out a week before that we were expecting and I’d gone for my check up and all was well. My hubby and I couldn’t believe we were expecting again and both were still in shock. Well, he was, I kinda knew it was supposed to happen, somewhat….

Three years ago, we purchased our first home and as we were moving in and unpacking, I heard the Lord say that we would have a third child.  We have two daughters, Maya now 10 and Ava now 7, I said, ok Lord, how will we fit another kid in this house, as we were moving into a townhouse. He said that the new baby would fit in our room, which was a pretty nice sized master.  I remember telling God, ok, but You will have to speak to hubby on that.  Hubbs was not hearing having a third kid, he was just fine with our two girls.  Well, fast forward three years to the summer of 2014. I can’t remember where I was or what I was doing but I heard the Spirit say, ” You’re going to have a son named Caleb”. I in turn questioned Him of course and asked, “Ok, Lord, to whom should I relay this message?” because surely it wasn’t meant for me. Hubby made it very clear that we were done having kids. Well, maybe a month or so earlier, I’d gone to hubby again and said that I wanted to try for a boy and of course he said no, so I’d let the matter go, made up in my mind that we were done and made peace with it.  After all, I couldn’t force my hubby, so I let it go and put my focus into ministry and making great strides in losing weight and toning my body. I was doing a darn good job may I add! Anyway, back to my story.  So, I hear that I”m going to have a son named Caleb and that was during the summer.  Well months passed and nothing. I began to question what I’d heard and wrote it off as being a little miffed that I’d wanted a son and hubbs said no but I just couldn’t shake the desire for a son.  Everywhere I went I saw little boys playing and cute little baby boys!

Fast forward to October 2014. I was preparing for another session of the purity program that I coordinate and my director and I were out shopping and I felt horrible! Didn’t think nothing of it.  She convinced me to buy a pregnancy test and I said fine, ok, whatever. I woke up at 4:37am to go to the bathroom and I figured I may as well take the test get it over with so I could mark it off my list as to why I was feeling so bad. I’m sitting waiting for the test results and I look down on the floor where the test was and the lines were hot pink!! I almost fell off the toilet seat!! I hurry to wake up Hubbs to show him and he was surprisingly calm! I just looked at him as if he was crazy because I was freaking out! I’d made up my mind that I was fine without a third kid! My muscles were defined and my belly was deflating, I was down to my goal size 10!

Called the Dr. the next day and via their calculations, I was 6 weeks pregnant! The following week, I go in for my check up and as I said all was well. A week later, my purity classes begin and I’m at church prepping with my director and we’re chatting. (Hope you’re not sensitive, beware of what’s next) While we’re chatting a get the sensation that feels as if I’m urinating on myself. So I rush to the bathroom and get to the stall, I pull my pants down only to see blood, and lots of it! Then, there was a final gush of blood and fluids and I began to scream and cry out for my director.  She comes running and I just start crying and screaming that my baby is gone, my baby is gone!! I remember looking at a clot that was left in my underwear and thinking, this is my baby. I remember telling God, you know, I was fine without the third kid, You didn’t have to do this to me! After I calmed down a little I call my husband and he comes to pick me up and we go to the emergency room.  I was a mess, I was so hurt but just wanted the whole ordeal to be over. The wait was grueling, I was given IV, and an unusually long ultrasound. During the ultrasound all I could think was why is she taking so long to find something that isn’t there?

Once the doctors and nurses were done invading my privacy, Hubby and I sat and waited in silence. The Dr came in and asked if the ultrasound tech had told us anything, and we answered no. He then says, well, the baby is still alive and the heartbeat is strong!! Hubbs and I were looking at him as if he had two heads! I was like, what in the world was that gush I felt and all the blood?! Well, turns out I had experienced something called a subchorionic hematoma.  This is when there’s extra blood and tissue that your body doesn’t absorb and what isn’t absorbed, is expelled during pregnancy.  He told us that although the baby seemed fine, but the placenta was starting to detach and there was still a 50/50 chance of miscarriage.  The only thing I could do was go home and try to rest.  We get home and I’m a nervous wreck! Every time I went to the bathroom was so scary because I was just waiting for something else to happen and every time I saw even a hint of blood I would cry. This all happened over a weekend and on Monday I went to see my Dr.  She did and ultrasound and again the baby was there, all was fine and heartbeat was strong.  I asked about the placenta pulling away and she said, “whatever happened, it’s healed now”. I just looked at her and said to myself, Lord, really, what are you up to?! So at this time all we knew was that we were having a baby. Where did this Caleb come from Lord? Well, when you’re over the age of 35, they offer genetic testing and you have the chance to find out early the sex of your child. On Christmas eve, we found out that we were having a boy, this indeed was our son Caleb.  I could only laugh! Only God, only God!! My husband just looked at me as if I had two heads lol!

Now, one year later, our son Caleb is almost 5 months old and he is the happiest, cutest baby boy ever! We all are so in love!!

I share this story with you, because I want you to know that no matter how things look, no matter what the circumstances look like or point to, if GOD said it, it will come to pass!!! We just have to stand in faith and trust HIM!!! We have to keep our eyes on Him and focus only on what He has said and not all that we hear going on around us! God said that I would have a son named Caleb and in spite of what I saw in the bathroom that night, in spite of what the Dr told us, our baby boy is here, alive and well and keeping us up at night lol!

Our God is faithful and if He said that you will have something, then believe it and watch Him bring it all to pass!!

Caleb Liam Taylor, 4 months

Caleb Liam Taylor, 4 months

Be blessed & encouraged,

Shannon

 

About Savin' It For Hubby!

Founder and Advocate for Purity & Truth. Promoting the truth about sex and the power of purity and obedience to God's Word! View all posts by Savin' It For Hubby!

4 responses to “If God Said it…..

  • Ladell Williams

    Shannon,

    This brought tears to my eyes just flowing tears. We’ve been struggling for a long time and seems like it will never end. We have a ray of sunlight and then cloudy days in the figurative sense. But God gave me Isaiah 61:7 years ago when Rod lost his first job and then he gave me Job 42. How I have been waiting for that word to come fruition. After reading your blog I can go on. Thank you. You just do not know what you did for me.

    Like

  • Taye

    Thank you for sharing your testimony at this time. I was really struggling with some promises GOD has laid on my heart that seemed impossible because I’ve been waiting for years. I almost gave up but after reading Job and then seeing this I knew GOD was talking to me. I know will receive every promise including my own Caleb. Bless you sister and your family. GOD has used you in this moment.

    Like

    • Savin' It For Hubby!

      Praise God!! Thank you Taye for sharing! I’m grateful that me sharing my story has renewed your faith in our Father. He is beyond faithful! I’ve learned that delays mean that He wants to make sure that everything is in place. He wants it to actually be a blessing to us. I just think about if God had given us Caleb any sooner how much of a strain it would have been on our marriage and our family. God truly does seek our best and boy when He does show up, He shows out and you know that it’s only Him. I’m praising God now for the greatness He has for you and I pray His strength and blessings for you. God bless you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

