Categories

Boundaries

Are you one of those people who hear the word “Bible” and roll your eyes, cringe or run for the hills? LOL! I know, I so used to be the same way! That is until I found out what the Bible really is all about.  Before I gave my life to Christ, I ran.  I ran far away.  I didn’t want to hear about God, certainly didn’t know who Jesus was and I didn’t want to hear anything about ….sin.  I didn’t realize then that I was running from the One who could rescue me from all that I was battling with.

I thought that by running from God and the Bible, that I was keeping my freedom and didn’t have to worry about being restricted and constricted. I always thought the Bible was full of words telling me what not to do so that I couldn’t have fun and live my life the way I wanted to.  I was living life without boundaries.  I did whatever I wanted, when I wanted, how I wanted and with whomever I chose to do it with!

It took me a long time to learn that the Bible was filled with pages of life-giving words, not life restricting and constricting words.  God’s word sets boundaries and believe it or not, we certainly do need boundaries! Without the word of God my life was out-of-bounds and all that did was allow me to heap loads of pain and heartache on myself! I invited this pain! Not knowing that the whole time I was running from God, He was chasing me with His love and all He wanted to do was protect me and I wouldn’t let Him.

God wants to protect us, that’s one of the reasons we have the Bible.  Look at life without the Bible.  Not pretty.  There’s so much ick, pain, and evil, all because we’d rather do things our own way.  We think we know what’s best when really, we don’t.  God has a huge advantage over us, He sees and knows the future, He knows what’s coming and not only that, He created us so He knows all about us (See Psalm 139).  The Word of God is alive and well and each time we read it, no matter if we’ve read the same verse several times before, we find exactly what we need for the season that we’re in. He knows exactly what we need right when we need it!

We have the wrong view of boundaries.  God’s boundaries are meant to protect and direct us.  If we follow Him, we can have the most amazing life which is found in Him (Jeremiah 29:11).  I mean, why not follow Him? He is the CREATOR of all things so why not go to the ONE who can give us all things? We don’t have to work for it, just receive, all because we’ve given our life over to Him.  He loves us beyond measure! Adam & Eve stepped out of the boundaries God set for them and look what happened? I would say having boundaries set by the Almighty is a pretty awesome idea! 🙂 Thank you God for your boundaries!

God boundaries

Be blessed & encouraged,

Shannon

2 thoughts on “Boundaries”

  1. To God be the glory! This Word is such a precious reminder of God’s Love for us. He loved/loves us so much that He not only pursued us, rescued us but left us with the very thing that helps us to live a victorious life: His Word. A part of my prayer this week was that very same Psalm. I’m grateful this morning for God’s love for me and for sisters like you, who know His voice and are willing to obey. Its very comforting and encouraging. I pray that our Father return unto you, 100-fold for every word written that was a blessing to the reader.

    Like

Leave a Reply

