Categories

My Story

 I was 14 years old the first time I had sex. He was 22. It was extremely painful and scary. I didn’t know what I was doing and I fully trusted him because he was older, cute and he “liked” me. He’d charmed and persuaded me saying he would be gentle and most importantly, he wouldn’t tell anyone. He had a girlfriend that he lived with. They both knew my mom and they lived across the hall from me. The first time was at the apartment he shared with his girlfriend, on the sofa, in their living room!! No protection, no love, my innocence and purity was taken away in a matter of minutes.

I went home afterwards and the only one I told at the time was my sister. The 2nd time was at a friend’s house with the same guy, still painful but somehow I didn’t feel guilt or shame. I felt grown up, cool, and wanted. Afterall, sex was the thing to do. I didn’t know anything different, wasn’t taught otherwise. By the time my mom decided to make an attempt to teach me anything about sex, I’d already gone to get birth control pills, which she’d found hidden in a brown paper bag hidden behind my bed. After all of this, I’d declared that I wouldn’t have sex again until I was 17 years old! Yeah, I know, I still hadn’t learned anything! Well, at 16, I had sex again with a guy who claimed to love me, but didn’t really because he tried and probably succeeded in having sex with my cousin. This behavior of looking for love and giving myself away continued in college as well. One heartbreak after another.

I say all this to point out the fact that I was never taught the truth about sex. I was never taught that sex is a gift from God given to married couples – male and female – as a means of expression of their love for one another! Also, sex is a representation of the most intimate relationship we are to have with God. God never intended for me or any of us to give ourselves away so freely and to be hurt and broken repeatedly. Sex is to be reserved for the marriage bed. We are to be pure until we are married.

When you have sex with someone, you become one with them, body, soul, and spirit. I wish someone had told me to wait, to give my body to my husband! If I’d known the truth about sex, about God, I wouldn’t have given myself away so freely and easily looking for love, wanting to feel needed and loved. All that was already there waiting for me… The love of GOD!!!

If I’d known about the unconditional, magnificent love of God, I could have avoided so many heart aches, heart breaks, emotional pain and disappointments! No one can or will ever love you the way God does and even though I’ve made so many mistakes, what Satan meant for bad, destruction and to ultimately end my life, my Father in Heaven has turned it around for my good!!

So, if you have had sex you can always stop and receive God’s forgiveness and walk in His love and freedom and if you haven’t, please, WAIT!!!!!!!

God put this on my heart, to spead His truth about this wonderful gift  that He has given us and if I can help even one girl or one woman, then my purpose has been fulfilled!

Be Blessed & Encouraged,

Shannon

**1 Corinthians 6:12-20**

Leave a Reply

